Liselotte Breyer – Wording Expert & Coach

Language is my medium.

Language makes visible and shapes. Sometimes a single word is enough to open up a new world. Welcome to my special field – THE POWER OF WORDS!

BASIS

With my studies as an Information Linguist (journalism and linguistics), I unconsciously laid the foundation for my current work as Wording Expert and Coach. My training as a Coach/Company Mentor was based on the individual psychology of Alfred Adler. I also underpin my focus on «language and personality» with various theoretical approaches to language and decades of practice as a writer.

MY BASICS AT A GLANCE:

Information Linguistics – the knowledge of the structure of language and its application.

Coaching/Company Mentoring – the well-founded training to support people in their professional reorientation and/or positioning in the business world.

Individual Psychology (Alfred Adler) – one of the three major schools of psychology with which Alfred Adler distanced himself from Sigmund Freud. I understand Adler's theory of personality as the beginning or starting point for the deepening of other psychological schools and approaches.

Language Theory (Charles Taylor) – his book The Language Animal – The Full Shape of the Human Linguistic Capacity (in German: Das sprachbegabte Tier – Grundzüge des menschlichen Sprachvermögens, Suhrkamp Verlag) emphasizes the importance of language for the creation of our world, on an individual as well as on a social level. The book is likely to become a key work for my work as a coach and language trainer.

Language Theory (Karl Bühler) – his organon model, which depicts the complex speech event in all its functions, has become seminal for me in understanding, accepting and explaining the complexity of communication. 

Communication Theory (Paul Watzlawick) – his emphasis on the «relational aspect of human communication» has been another key for me to more quickly identify breakdowns in communication.

Speech Act Theory (John L. Austin) – his emphasis on the «illocutionary role of utterance» (the speaker's intention to achieve something in the other person with his utterance) complements Bühler's and Watzlawick's approaches excellently and emphasizes the difficulty of successful communication.

METHODS

As a coach, I work in a goal-oriented, language- and personality-centered way. My focus is on the conversation, on linguistic methods and interventions. My first format «Personality, Profile, Pitch» already contained the essence of my methodology: to complement the coaching sessions with tools (exercises) and reflection.

MY METHODOLOGICAL FAVORITES:
 
The GPI® test – the four basic directions of personality, based on individual psychology – is ideally suited as an introduction to personality and for a better self-understanding of my clients. In only ten minutes, the test shows what makes you tick and can be used again and again during the coaching process. The point is not to put a label on ourselves, but to understand, based on the relationship of the four basic directions, why we react one way and not another in challenging moments.
 
Listening – the linguistic intervention par excellence I describe in detail in my BLOG (only in German so far).
 
Asking questions (open-ended questions, hypothetical questions, scaling questions) – or the art of shaping a relationship and moving the development process forward.
 
Summarizing – or the art of getting to the heart of the matter, creates clarity, makes aware and positions.
 
Verbalizing, reflecting, wording – I wrote my diploma thesis as a company mentor about the fruitful interaction of these three linguistic methods. The three methods show how language influences our consciousness and thus promotes our personality development.
 
Program «Personality, Profile, Pitch» – or how, based on our personality, we can carve out our profile in no time and get to the heart of what makes us tick. In other words: Personal Branding with a deeper understanding.
 
Storycounseling® – or the processing of experiences by means of stories and figures (archetypes).

VITA

Authentic, unconventional, analytical
There are 30 years between my training as an information linguist (1988-1992) and my training as a coach/company mentor (2019-2021). What happened in between and significantly shaped me, I summarize in three terms: Writing, Jobs, Sabbaticals. They exemplify my unconventional path and reflect my constant striving for depth, development and reflection.

Linguistic project – metaverbum – THE POWER OF WORDS (since 2022)
metaverbum  is an answer to Mark Zuckerberg's Metaverse and the disorientation of many people. metaverbum is at the same time the essence of my linguistic knowledge and coaching experience. It is my goal, to establish metaverbum as «School of a new linguistic awareness» in a wider context.

Coaching @profil45plus (since 2019) 
I started my work as a professional coach with the format «Personality, Profile, Pitch» at profil45plus – an effective method to orientate and position yourself quickly. It is my goal to establish this format in companies as well. I am constantly developing my offer.

Writing (since 1988)
I have never stopped writing. I have a journalistic-linguistic background and have published as a writer, poet and journalist. I am interested in people and their development, existential and sociological questions. Above all, I want to understand – myself, you, the world.

Jobs (since 1987)
I knew very early what I wanted: to write. I could not live from writing. So I jobbed to finance my writing and gained insight into numerous organizations and companies in a wide variety of functions. My professional spectrum ranges from a monastery to Novartis, from Swiss Aids Foundation to the construction company Losinger Marazzi. Whether as secretary or assistant to the CEO, as campaign manager or editor – I grew in every role, with every commitment.

Sabbaticals (since 1994)
An unconventional path thrives on change and is a balancing act between autonomy and adaptation. Sabbaticals are great for balance. I have regularly afforded myself this luxury to reflect on the essentials and prepare for the new. Whether in the big city of Paris or on lonely Greek islands, whether on Lake Garda or for further education – my sabbaticals have shaped me and broadened my horizons.

© Photo: Corinna Valpiani

Liselotte Breyer – Sprachexpertin & Coach

Die Sprache ist mein Medium.

Die Sprache macht sichtbar und formt. Manchmal reicht ein einziges Wort, um uns eine neue Welt zu erschliessen. Willkommen in meinem Spezialgebiet – THE POWER OF WORDS!

GRUNDLAGEN

Mit meiner Ausbildung zur Informationslinguistin (Journalismus und Linguistik) habe ich unbewusst das Fundament für meine heutige Arbeit als Sprachexpertin & Coach gelegt. Die Ausbildung zur Coach/Betrieblichen Mentorin baute auf der Individualpsychologie nach Alfred Adler. Meinen Schwerpunkt «Sprache und Persönlichkeit» untermauere ich zudem mit verschiedenen sprachtheoretischen Ansätzen und jahrzehntelanger Praxis als Schreibende.

MEINE GRUNDLAGEN AUF EINEN BLICK:

Informationslinguistik – das Wissen vom Aufbau der Sprache und von ihrer Anwendung.

Coaching/Betriebliches Mentoring – die fundierte Ausbildung, um Menschen bei der beruflichen Neuorientierung und/oder Positionierung in der Arbeitswelt zu unterstützen.

Individualpsychologie (Alfred Adler) – eine der drei grossen psychologischen Schulen, mit der sich Alfred Adler von Sigmund Freud distanzierte. Ich verstehe Adlers Persönlichkeitstheorie als Anfang oder Ausgangspunkt für die Vertiefung von weiteren psychologischen Schulen und Ansätzen.

Sprachtheorie (Charles Taylor) – sein Buch The Language Animal – The Full Shape of the Human Linguistic Capacity (auf Deutsch: Das sprachbegabte Tier – Grundzüge des menschlichen Sprachvermögens, Suhrkamp Verlag) unterstreicht die Bedeutung der Sprache für die Erschaffung unserer Welt, auf individueller wie auf gesellschaftlicher Ebene. Das Buch dürfte zu einem Schlüsselwerk für meine Arbeit als Coach und Sprachtrainerin werden.

Sprachtheorie (Karl Bühler) – sein Organonmodell, das das komplexe Sprechereignis in all seinen Funktionen darstellt, ist für mich wegweisend geworden, um die Komplexität von Kommunikation zu verstehen, zu akzeptieren und zu erklären.

Kommunikationstheorie (Paul Watzlawick) – seine Betonung des «Beziehungsaspekts der menschlichen Kommunikation» ist für mich ein weiterer Schlüssel, um Störungen in der Kommunikation rascher zu erkennen.

Sprechakttheorie (John L. Austin) – seine Akzentuierung der «illokutionären Rolle der Äusserung» (die Absicht des Sprechers, der mit seiner Äusserung beim Gegenüber etwas erreichen will) ergänzt Bühlers und Watzlawicks Ansätze ausgezeichnet und betont die Schwierigkeit von gelingender Kommunikation.

    METHODIK

    Als Coach arbeite ich zielorientiert, sprach- und persönlichkeitszentriert. Mein Fokus liegt auf dem Gespräch, auf sprachlichen Methoden und Interventionen. In meinem ersten Format «Persönlichkeit, Profil, Pitch» steckte bereits die Essenz meiner Methodik: die Coachingsitzungen durch Tools (Übungen)  und Reflexion zu ergänzen. Dieses Dreigespann hat sich bewährt.

    MEINE METHODISCHEN FAVORITEN:

    Der GPI®-Test – die vier Grundrichtungen der Persönlichkeit, basierend auf der Individualpsychologie – eignet sich bestens als Einführung in die Persönlichkeit und zum besseren Selbstverständnis meiner Klient*innen. Der Test bildet in zehn Minuten ab, wie Sie ticken und kann im Coachingverlauf immer wieder herangezogen werden. Es geht nicht darum, uns ein Etikett aufzukleben, sondern anhand des Verhältnisses der vier Grundrichtungen zu verstehen, warum wir in herausfordernden Momenten so und nicht anders reagieren.

    Zuhören – die sprachliche Intervention schlechthin beschreibe ich ausführlich in meinem BLOG.

    Fragen stellen (offene Fragen, hypothetische Fragen, Skalierungsfragen) – oder die Kunst, eine Beziehung zu gestalten und den Entwicklungsprozess voranzutreiben.

    Zusammenfassen – oder die Kunst, das Wesentliche auf den Punkt zu bringen, schafft Klarheit, macht bewusst und positioniert.

    Verbalisieren, Reflektieren, Formulieren – über die fruchtbare Wechselwirkung dieser drei sprachlichen Methoden habe ich meine Diplomarbeit als Betriebliche Mentorin geschrieben. Die drei Methoden zeigen auf, wie Sprache unser Bewusstsein beeinflusst und damit unsere Persönlichkeitsentwicklung fördert.

    Programm «Persönlichkeit, Profil, Pitch» – oder wie wir basierend auf unserer Persönlichkeit im Nu unser Profil herausschälen und auf den Punkt bringen, was uns ausmacht. Mit anderen Worten: Personal Branding with a deeper understanding.

    Storycounseling® – oder die Verarbeitung von Erfahrungen mittels Geschichten und Figuren (Archetypen).

    VITA

    Authentisch, unkonventionell, analytisch
    Zwischen meiner Ausbildung zur Informationslinguistin (1988-1992) und der Ausbildung zur Coach/Betrieblichen Mentorin (2019-2021) liegen 30 Jahre. Was dazwischen geschah und mich massgeblich prägte, fasse ich in drei Begriffen zusammen: Writing, Jobs, Sabbaticals. Sie stehen exemplarisch für meinen unkonventionellen Weg und spiegeln mein stetes Streben nach Tiefgang, Entwicklung und Besinnung.

    Sprachprojekt – metaverbum – THE POWER OF WORDS (seit 2022)
    metaverbum ist eine Antwort auf Mark Zuckerberg's Metaverse und die Desorientierung vieler Menschen. metaverbum ist gleichzeitig die Essenz meines Sprach- und Erfahrungswissens. Es ist mein Ziel, metaverbum als «Schule eines neuen Sprachbewusstseins» in einem grösseren Kontext zu etablieren.

    Coaching – profil45plus (seit 2019)
    Ich begann meine Arbeit als Coach mit dem Format «Persönlichkeit, Profil, Pitch» bei profil45plus – eine effektive Methode, um sich rasch zu orientieren und zu positionieren. Es ist mein Ziel, dieses Format auch in Unternehmen zu etablieren. Ich entwickle mein Angebot laufend weiter.

    Writing (seit 1988)
    Ich schreibe, seit ich schreiben kann. Ich habe einen journalistisch-linguistischen Hintergrund und als Autorin, Dichterin und Journalistin publiziert. Mich interessieren der Mensch und seine Entwicklung, existenzielle und soziologische Fragen. Ich will vor allem verstehen – mich, Sie, die Welt.

    Jobs (seit 1987)
    Ich wusste sehr früh, was ich will und was mir wichtig ist: schreiben. Vom Schreiben konnte ich nicht leben. Also jobbte ich, um mein Schreiben zu finanzieren und bekam Einblick in zahlreiche Organisationen und Unternehmen in unterschiedlichsten Funktionen. Mein berufliches Spektrum reicht vom Kloster bis zu Novartis, von der Aids-Hilfe Schweiz bis zum Grossbauunternehmen Losinger Marazzi. Ob als Sekretärin oder Assistentin des CEO, ob als Kampagnenleiterin oder Lektorin – ich wuchs in jeder Rolle, mit jedem Engagement.

    Sabbaticals (seit 1994)
    Ein unkonventioneller Weg lebt vom Wandel und ist ein Balanceakt zwischen Autonomie und Anpassung. Sabbaticals eignen sich hervorragend als Ausgleich. Ich habe mir diesen Luxus regelmässig geleistet, um mich auf das Wesentliche zu besinnen und auf das Neue vorzubereiten. Ob in der Grossstadt Paris oder auf einsamen griechischen Inseln, ob am Gardasee oder zur Weiterbildung – meine Auszeiten haben mich geprägt und meinen Horizont erweitert.

    © Foto: Corinna Valpiani